#### DEVIZES CONSTITUENCY CONSERVATIVE ASSOCIATION

# Aldbourne and Ramsbury Branch ("ARB")

# **Minutes of the Annual General Meeting**

13th June, 2022 at 6.00 p.m.

Held via Zoom video conference, at which the committee and one member were present

### 1. Apologies for absence:

Apologies were received from: Ashley de Safrin, Nick Swan, Frances and Peter Mills.

#### 2. Minutes of the 2021 AGM:

2021 AGM Minutes were distributed and signed as correct by Nigel Thompson.

### 3. The Branch Chairman's Report:

Nigel Thompson ("NT") opened the meeting by paying tribute to the late Tara Elliot who was a great support over the years and is missed very much.

There have been resignations from the party in the Branch. NT stressed that the main role of the Branch is support our MP and local councillors. He subsequently read from Danny Kruger's newsletter on his position on the Prime Minister.

Due to apathy felt for The Government, NT feels that the Branch should not attempt to arrange much.

#### 4. The Hon. Treasurer's Report:

Matthew Stallabrass ("MS") reported that there is 734.83 in cash and that the profit of around £1,000 from the Christmas event was paid to the DCCA.

MS is looking for a local branch of TSB to access the bank account (Wantage is nearest open). RS suggested asking the DCCA's bank to switch across. DCCA will look at alternative banks to HSBC, which do not charge monthly.

#### 5. Election of the Officers of the Branch:

The following were elected as Officers of the Branch:

Chairman: Sir Nigel Thompson

Hon. Treasurer: Matthew Stallabrass

Membership Secretary: Rupert Stephenson

Hon. Secretary: Penelope Gordon

Proposed en bloc by Geoffrey Adams, seconded by Donald Sherlock.

#### 6. Election of the Committee:

Ashley de Safrin, Tor Petley and Nick Swan have resigned from the committee. NT thanked them for their support, and in particular, Tor Petley, for her many years of contribution.

It was proposed that the following be re-elected en bloc:

Geoffrey Adams and Donald Sherlock.

Proposed by Nigel Thompson, seconded by Penelope Gordon.

## 7. Election of the Executive Committee Representatives:

The following were elected to represent the Branch on the DCCA Executive Committee:

Sir Nigel Thompson and Cllr. James Sheppard.

Proposed by Rupert Stephenson, seconded by Matthew Stallabrass.

### 8. Election of the CWCC Representatives:

Frances Mills has retired from the committee after 55 years of service. NT thanked Frances, on behalf of the Branch, for her outstanding contribution.

NT/PG to ascertain whether Muriel Lye will still represent.

#### 9. Events Programme for 2022

Rupert Stephenson ("RS") reported that the current apathy felt towards the party is not conducive for fund raising events. The Branch will look again, later in the year, at a possible Christmas drinks, maybe with another branch or two.

## 10. Any Other Business

Geoffrey Adams expressed his views on the current Westminster system and asked for change, beginning at Branch level.

RS reported on the proposed constituency boundary change. Currently the proposal is for Devizes to be split three ways. RS continues to battle. There will be a meeting in September to discuss the situation.

The DCCA AGM will take place on 30<sup>th</sup> June at the Bouverie Hall in Pewsey, from 6.

The meeting closed at 18.45 p.m.